Visa application support

On the basis of information collected by the Collective WSF 2016, many visa denials stem from technical issues (complexity of forms, procedural timeframes, inaccessibility of embassy services).

To deal with these issues, a technical assistance device was put forth in order to help participants from countries subject to the visa requirement when completing their application for entry into Canada.

Guide on visa procurement, designed specifically for you! 

This guide offers detailed information on each step of the application process, also indicating factors that may lead to a visa denial. It contains a comprehensive list of Canadian visa offices around the world.

An application for visa is a fairly complex procedure, which is why it is important to prepare in advance and at least three months before the travel date to file the application. It is also noteworthy that the file processing fees are non-refundable regardless of whether you receive a visa or not.

However, it is only to observe the procedure and to provide the time needed to process your application, knowing that the processing time for a visa up to 70 days.

Note: starting March 15, 2016, travelers from visa-exempt countries flying to Canada or transiting through Canada en route to their final destination must procure an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA). This requirement does not apply to US citizens and foreign nationals with valid visas.

You can download the guide for free :

 Guide on visa procurement WSF2016

A visa-forms technical support team, to your service!

Our Participant Services working group at the 2016 World Social Forum has specifically created a technical support team to facilitate access and participation to as many people and civil society organizations as possible.

This team of volunteers will stand at your service in Montréal to answer your questions, providing relevant information and guiding you through the process, from preparing your visa request file all the way to your receiving an answer from the embassy. Please note that to submit a visa application you should do so yourself.

This service is:

  • free and non-discriminatory service that meets the WSF’s values
  • doesn’t involve any financial support
  • not a way to have your invitation letter faster, these are two different processes.
  • not related to any governement services
  • do not imply a garantee of visa

To take advantage of this service,  please fill out a form

Invitation letter

Please note that the invitation letter does not implies any logistic liability or financial responsibility on the part the World Social Forum. It is your responsabilty to provide your evidence of sufficient financial resources, evidence of accommodation during your stay in Canada and document of transport. If you d’ont provide those informations you risk to have your visa request declined. 

To receive you invitation letter, please fill in the form and sen it back to this email adress :  visa@fsm2016.org

Invitation letter’s form (Word)

We want to inform you that the volunteer service processing the invitation letters’ requests will not process the forms received after July 20th 2016. If you send your request before July 20th 2016 midnight Montreal time (UTC-4) you are going to receive your invitation letter within a maximum of 15 days. In fairness to all paticipants, we deliver invitation letters in chronologial order that the form is received.

Don’t be last minute. It is your responsibility to make sure you have all the required documents for your visa application in time. To verify the processing time for your country go to:http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/information/times/index.asp

If you’re concerned about not receiving the response to your visa application in time you can submit your visa application without the invitation letter and indicate that you’re coming to Canada for the World Social Forum.

IMPORTANT:

  • Please fill out all the requested fields , otherwise the invitation letter may be refused.
  • The invitation letter do not imply a garantee of visa.
  • You can submit a visa application WITHOUT an invitation letter
  • The World Social Forum is a plural, diversified, non-confessional, nongovernmental and non-party context. For more informations about the Constitutive Charter please visit: https://fsm2016.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/WSF-2016-Charte-English.pdf

Required visa documents – arabic version

Soutien à la demande de visa

D’après les informations recueillies par le Collectif FSM 2016, très souvent on refuse de visas pour des causes techniques (complexité des formulaires, délais des procédures, inaccessibilité des services des ambassades).

Pour faire face à ces problématiques, un dispositif de soutien technique a été mis en place pour aider les participants des pays assujettis à l’obligation de visa dans leurs démarches de demande d’entrée au Canada.

Guide de soutien à la démarche de demande de visa, conçu spécialement pour vous ! 

Ce guide détaille les différentes étapes de la demande ainsi que les éléments susceptibles d’entraîner son refus, et présente une liste complète des bureaux des visas canadiens dans le monde

Une demande de visa est une procédure assez complexe, c’est pourquoi il est bien important de se préparer à l’avance et compter au moins trois mois avant la date du voyage pour déposer la demande. Il est aussi à noter que les frais de traitement du dossier sont non remboursables, peu importe si vous recevez un visa ou non.

Toutefois, il ne s’agit que de respecter la procédure et de prévoir le temps nécessaire au traitement de votre dossier, sachant que le délai du traitement d’une demande de visa peut aller jusqu’à 70 jours.

Note : à compter du 15 mars 2016, les voyageurs étrangers dispensés de visa qui prennent un vol à destination du Canada ou qui transitent par le Canada vers leur destination finale devront obtenir une autorisation de voyage électronique (AVE). Cette exigence ne s’applique pas entre autres aux citoyens des États-Unis et aux voyageurs qui possèdent un visa valide

Le guide est  téléchargeable gratuitement en cliquant sur ce lien :

 Guide de demande visa FSM2016 

Une équipe de soutien technique aux visas, à votre disposition !

Le groupe de travail Services aux personnes participantes du Forum Social mondial 2016 a mis en place une équipe spécifique de soutien technique pour faciliter l’accessibilité et la participation du plus grand nombre d’individus et d’organisations de la société civile.

Cette équipe de bénévoles est à votre disposition à Montréal pour accompagner et répondre à vos préoccupations en fournissant un éventail pertinent d’informations.  Veuillez noter que nous ne pouvons vous aider à remplir les formulaires ; il est de votre responsabilité de remplir ces derniers. Notre équipe, en cas de besoin, peut seulement vous aider à vous assurer que vous avez rempli de manière complète tous les formulaires nécessaires à votre demande de visa. Le seul conseil que nous pouvons vous donner est de dire la vérité.

Ce service 

  • est gratuit et non discriminatoire afin de répondre aux valeurs du FSM
  • n’implique aucun soutien financier
  • n’est pas un moyen d’avoir une lettre d’invitation plus rapidement, ce sont deux processus différents
  • n’est pas liée à un service gouvernemental 
  • ne vous garantie pas d’obtenir un visa 

Pour bénéficier de ce service, merci de remplir ce formulaire

Lettre d’invitation

Veuillez noter que la lettre d’invitation au Forum Social Mondial n’implique aucune prise en charge par le collectif. Il est de votre responsabilité de fournir vos preuves de ressources financières suffisantes, une preuve d’hébergement et un titre de transport. Si vous ne fournissez pas toutes ses informations vous risquez de voir votre visa refusé.

Pour recevoir votre lettre d’invitation, veuillez remplir le formulaire ci-dessous et nous le renvoyer à l’adresse courriel suivante : visa@fsm2016.org

Formulaire lettre invitation (Word)

Nous tenons à vous informer que le service bénévole traitant les demandes de lettres d’invitation n’étudiera pas les formulaires reçus après le 20 juillet 2016. Si vous envoyez votre demande de lettre d’invitation avant le 20 juillet 2016 minuit heure de Montréal (UTC-4) vous recevrez une lettre d’invitation dans un délai de 15 jours. Par soucis d’équité, le délai de 15 jours s’applique à tout le monde et nous délivrons les lettres d’invitation selon l’ordre de réception du formulaire.

Ne soyez pas à la dernière minute. Il est de votre responsabilité de vous assurer d’avoir, dans les temps prescrits, tout les documents nécessaires à votre demande de visa. Pour vérifier le délai de traitement des demandes selon les pays, consultez : http://www.cic.gc.ca/francais/information/delais/temp/visiteurs.asp

Si vous craignez de ne pas recevoir la réponse à votre demande de visa à temps, vous pouvez déposer votre demande de visa sans la lettre d’invitation et indiquer que vous viendrez au Canada pour le Forum Social Mondial. Bonne chance dans vos démarches.

 

IMPORTANT :

  • La lettre d’invitation peut vous être refusée si vous ne remplissez pas tous les champs tel que demandé.
  • La lettre d’invitation ne vous garantit pas d’obtenir un visa.
  • Vous pouvez faire une demande de visa SANS la lettre d’invitation.
  • Nous vous rappelons que le FSM est un espace non confessionnel, non partisan et non politique. Pour plus d’information sur la Charte de principes, visitez : https://fsm2016.org/sinformer/a-propos-du-forum-social-mondial/.

Required visa documents – arabic version