Self-Managed Committees

What are they?

Self-managed committees are made up of organizations, groups, and citizens who wish to make a specific contribution to the 2016 WSF (a set of themes, an objective, an action strategy, a public, a territory, etc.).

These committees are a methodological innovation in the organizational process for 2016. They aim to reach one of the major WSF goals: to support the convergence of actors of change and the articulation of struggles in order to strengthen civil society in its capacity to act and propose alternatives to the dominant model.

Show the self-managed committees of the WSF 2016, by selecting the appropriate category.

What is their mission?

Self-managed Committees mainly seek to accomplish one of the following missions:

  • Promote the 2016 WSF and inform on the different possible ways of participating in the event.
  • Propose a structured and specific program during the 2016 WSF.
  •  Coordinate and facilitate a physical space focused on a theme during the 2016 WSF.

How do they work?

Any group, citizens’ collective, organization, or network can propose to form a committee. These can also ensue from discussions facilitated on Skype involvement circles.

To propose the formation of a self-managed committee, contact: comites@fsm2016.org.

The 2016 WSF Collective offers support for the formation of the committee and the definition of its objectives, missions, and ways of operating. Once these are set, the committee is autonomous and self-managed.

Once it is set up, a committee can act in collaboration with the other 2016 WSF bodies (working groups, other committees, etc.) in order to accomplish its missions to the best of its ability. It can also be associated with certain aspects of the organization of the 2016 WSF.

Coordinate and facilitate a physical space during the 2016 WSF

A self-managed committee can propose to coordinate a physical space within the World Social Territory. This space will be focused on a set of themes or a targeted public, to which it will provide anchoring and visibility during the Montreal 2016 WSF. Depending on the committee’s proposals, it can be a set of rooms, an indoor or outdoor place to be facilitated, an emblematic place for its set of themes or targeted public, etc.

The space will make it possible to organize activities that are outside of the box of “traditional” ones: artistic, outdoors, or ambulant activities, activities spread out over several days and/or over a large area, etc. It can also be a place to meet informally, and feature a theme-based village and presentation stands.

The facilitation and coordination of these spaces and the proper logistical upkeep fall under the Self-managed Committees’ responsibility. The 2016 WSF Collective will see to it that the principles of openness, inclusion and horizontality, diversity, debate, and plurality are structuring elements of these spaces.

Comités autogérés

Qu’est-ce que c’est ?

Les comités autogérés rassemblent des organisations, des groupes et des citoyenNEs qui souhaitent apporter une contribution spécifique au FSM  2016 (une thématique, un objectif, une stratégie d’action, un public, un territoire…).

Ces comités constituent une innovation méthodologique du processus d’organisation pour 2016. Ils visent l’atteinte d’un des objectifs majeurs des FSM : favoriser la convergence des acteurs et actrices de changement et l’articulation des luttes afin de renforcer la société civile dans sa capacité d’action et de proposition d’alternatives au modèle dominant.

Voir les comités autogérés du FSM 2016, en sélectionnant la catégorie appropriée.

Quelle est leur mission ?

Les comités autogérés poursuivent principalement l’une des missions suivantes :

  • Promouvoir le FSM 2016 et informer sur les formes de participation possibles à l’événement.
  • Proposer une programmation structurée et spécifique durant le FSM 2016.
  • Coordonner et animer un espace physique centré sur une thématique durant le FSM 2016.

Comment cela fonctionne ?

Tout groupe, collectif citoyen, organisation, réseau, peut proposer la création d’un comité. Ceux-ci peuvent également émaner des discussions animées sur les cercles d’implication skype.

Pour proposer la création d’un comité autogéré, communiquer avec : comites@fsm2016.org .

Le Collectif FSM 2016 offre un accompagnement pour la création du comité, la définition des objectifs, missions et modes de fonctionnement. Une fois ces éléments fixés, le comité est autonome et autogéré.

Une fois créé, le comité peut agir en collaboration avec les autres instances du FSM 2016 (groupes de travail, autres comités…) afin de remplir au mieux ses missions. Il peut aussi être associé à certains aspects de l’organisation du FSM 2016.

Coordonner et animer un espace physique durant le FSM 2016

Un comité autogéré peut proposer de coordonner un espace physique au sein du Territoire social mondial. Cet espace est centré sur une thématique ou un public-cible, auquel il apporte un ancrage et une visibilité pendant le FSM Montréal 2016. Selon les propositions du comité, il peut s’agir d’un ensemble de salles, d’un lieu animé en intérieur ou extérieur, d’un lieu emblématique pour la thématique ou le public-cible…

L’espace permet d’organiser des activités sortant du cadre « classiques » :activités artistiques, en extérieur, déambulatoires, s’étalant sur plusieurs jours et / ou sur une large zone… Il peut également être un lieux de rencontre informelle et comporter un village thématique et des kiosques de présentation.

L’animation, la coordination des espaces et leur bonne tenue logistique revient aux Comités autogérés. Le Collectif FSM 2016 veillera à ce que les principes d’ouverture, d’inclusion et d’horizontalité, de diversité, le débat et la pluralité soit des éléments structurants de ces espaces.