World Social Forum on Transformative Economies

16 May 2019

The World Social Forum on Transformative Economies is a process of convergence of the different alternative economy movements. It will take place in 2020 in Barcelona. For this occasion, we interviewed Jason Nardi, one of the initiators of this initiative and a member of the International Council of the World Social Forum.

What is the World Social Forum on Transformative Economies ?

It’s a thematic forum, meaning it’s focused on systemic change starting from the existing solutions. The main goal of this forum is to bring together different movements, practices and networks at the local and international level that identify themselves as contributing to the transformation of capitalist market economy towards a plural economy having fundamental values such as sustainability, human rights, earth rights, collective commons vision, ecofeminism, etc.

The Forum will be the result of a convergence process lasting two years. The idea was conceived during a convergence assembly in the 2016 WSF in Montreal and was presented in the Salvador de Bahia WSF. A  first preparatory meeting took place in April 2019 to set up the dynamics that will develop new partnerships at the local and international level. Then the World Social Forum of Transformative Economies will take place in the Spring of 2020 ensuring a continuity of the movement through the work done during those two years

Thematic and regional forums make it possible to widely spread the message that Another World is Possible. We must show people around the world that not only alternatives are possible, but that they already exist and are complementary with each other and can work together on some common transformative actions (public policies, education, finance, climate, culture, etc.).

We cannot change the world by ourselves, we need spaces to join forces and this is one of them.

If you want to participate or volunteer in the process of the  World Social Forum on Transformative Economies 2019-2020, please send an email to: int@transformadora.org or visit: https://transformadora.org/en/

Share This

Forum social mondial sur les économies transformatrices

16 mai 2019

Le Forum social mondial sur les économies transformatrices est un événement de convergence des différents mouvements de l’économie alternative. Il aura lieu en 2020 à Barcelone. Pour l’occasion, nous avons interviewé Jason Nardi, l’un des initiateurs de cette initiative et membre du Conseil international du Forum Social Mondial.

Qu’est-ce que le Forum social mondial sur les économies transformatrices ?

C’est un Forum thématique, c’est à dire, focalisé sur le changement systémique à partir des solutions existantes. L’objectif principal de ce forum est de rassembler différents mouvements, pratiques et réseaux au niveau local et international qui s’identifient comme contribuant à la transformation de l’économie capitaliste de marché vers une économie ayant des valeurs fondamentales telles que la durabilité, les droits humains, les droits de la terre, la vision collective des communs, l’écofeminisme, etc.

Le Forum est l’aboutissement d’un processus de convergence de deux ans. L’idée est partie en 2016 dans une assemblée de convergence au FSM de Montréal et a été présentée au dernier FSM de Salvador de Bahia.

Ainsi une première réunion internationale préparatoire  à eu lieu au début d’avril 2019 afin de mettre en place les dynamiques pouvant développer de nouvelles alliances au niveau local et international. Puis le Forum Social mondial des économies transformatrices se déroulera au printemps 2020 assurant une continuité du mouvement à travers le travail accompli ces deux dernières années.

Les forums thématiques et régionaux permettent de largement diffuser le message qu’un autre monde est possible. Nous devons montrer au monde que non seulement des alternatives sont possibles, mais qu’elles existent déjà et qu’elles sont complémentaires et travaillent ensemble sur des actions transformatrices communes (politiques publiques, éducation, finance, climat, culture, etc.).

Nous ne pouvons pas changer le monde par nous-mêmes, nous avons besoin d’espaces pour unir nos forces et celui-ci ‘est l’un d’eux.

Si vous souhaitez participer ou être bénévole au processus du Forum Social Mondial sur les Économies Transformatrices 2019-2020, veuillez envoyer un courriel à : int@transformadora.org ou consulter le site Web : https://transformadora.org/fr/

Partager