13691157_1759224014332444_3736622825390445880_o

Grand Conference : Basic Income, a Major Social Innovation for the 21st Century

13 August 2016

Basic income: the idea that giving an amount of money from birth to death could help eradicate extreme poverty

For the last day of the Grand Conferences, the WSF 2016 presented a discussion on basic income at Concordia University. During an hour and a half, the panel of three speakers and a moderator addressed the conference “ Basic Income, a Major Social Innovation for the 21st Century”.

The first one to speak was Rutger Bregman, author of the bestseller Utopia for Realists, where he defends the need to have a basic income. His intervention was filled with humour, as well as being rich in content. He began by explaining that following his five years of study in the field of history, he was able to summarize everything that he learned in 5 words: “everything used to be worse”. He then went on to offer a critique of the media, which only talk about disasters, terrorism, and economic crises; in brief, we are too pessimistic. During the 1800s, 94% of the world’s population lived in extreme poverty. During the 1980s, this number went down to 40%, whereas today it is at 10%. The most important objection to basic income is fundamentally moral as the majority of people believe that in order to make money, one must work for it. The problem is that we apply a definition that is too limited when it comes to work. People are paid for working “ bullshit jobs “, while being frustrated at their jobs. We are not creating a society that is happier or more productive.

Karl Widerquist, professor at the University of Georgetown, continued the discussion by presenting the history behind the importance of a basic income. He presented the three waves of basic income. The first wave began at the beginning of the 20th century and emerged from the idea that “basic income is the base of social justice”. A certain income, just enough to be able to pay for necessities, needs to be guaranteed to everyone, whether one works or not. A larger income should be given to those who wish to work within their communities. The second wave continued during the 1960s, accompanied by social movements in which civil society participated and encouraged, like the Welfare Rights Movement for example. Widerquist concluded by presenting the third and most important wave of the movement which is going on today.

Marcus Brancaglione presented a concrete example of the application of basic income in Brazil. Brazil is moreover the first and only country to have introduced the concept of a basic income in its constitution. In 2008, Marcus Brancaglione initiated a pilot project in a small village in his motherland. In the beginning, people believed it as a trap, but in the end, all beneficiated from it.

Instead of spending enormous amounts of money on war and corruption, why not use this money towards programs of basic income from which all can take advantage of? However, it is important to remember that “to every right, a duty”. Although governments do their part in giving populations such a right, populations have a duty to use this income in order for everyone, including future generations, to take advantage of this income and to potentially eradicate extreme poverty.

To conclude the conference, a period of questions allowed the debate to carry on. Bregman and Widerquist mentioned that a system of international assistance – where the rich and the poor can benefit – is less costly than a targeted system. Some may say that a system of international assistance is more costly than a targeted system. However, Widerquist demonstrated that the required costs to determine which populations need this basic income are greater than a simple system where all are targeted and benefit in the end. During the second wave of the movement, Reagan and Thatcher demonized poorer social classes and retreated the work that was previously done by activists for basic income. Both speakers explained that by including all social classes when it came to social benefits, this allowed to eliminate the demonization of other classes in the debate.

Finally, Bregman closed the discussion with the example of women’s suffrage, which was considered for quite some time as a utopia. We must not forget that “every milestone of civilization started as a utopian thought”.

Share This

13691157_1759224014332444_3736622825390445880_o

Grande conférence : Le revenu de base comme une innovation sociale d 21e siècle

13 août 2016

Pour le dernier jour des grandes conférences, le FSM 2016 présentait à l’Université Concordia une discussion sur le thème du revenu de base. Pendant une heure et demie, le panel de trois conférenciers et d’une modératrice a conversé “Le revenu de base comme une innovation sociale majeure du 21e siècle”.

Le premier à s’exprimer était Rutger Bregman, auteur du best seller Utopia for Realists, où il défend la nécessité d’avoir un revenu de base. Son intervention pleine d’humour, était néanmoins riche en contenu. Il commença par expliquer qu’il avait obtenu un diplôme d’histoire et, après cinq années de labeur, il pouvait résumé tout ce qu’il avait appris en 5 mots : “everything used to be worse” (tout était pire avant). Il offrit par la suite une critique des médias qui ne parlent que des catastrophes, du terrorisme, et des crises économiques, bref, nous sommes trop pessimistes. Dans les années 1800, 94 % de la population mondiale vivait dans la pauvreté extrême. Dans les années 1980 ce chiffre était de 40 % tandis qu’aujourd’hui il est à 10 %. La plus importante objection au revenu de base est fondamentalement morale. La majorité des gens pensent qu’il faut travailler pour gagner de l’argent. Le problème est que l’on emploie une définition trop restreinte de ce que le travail. Nous rémunérons des gens qui occupent des “bullshit jobs”, eux-même frustrés du travail qu’ils offrent. Nous ne créons pas une société plus heureuse ou productive.

Karl Widerquist, professeur de l’Université Georgetown, continue la discussion en présentant l’histoire derrière l’idée de la nécessité d’avoir un revenu de base. Il présente les trois vagues du revenu de base. La première, ayant eu lieu au début du 20e siècle, est née du concept où “le revenu de base est la source de toute justice sociale”. Un certain revenu, juste assez pour se procurer les nécessités, devrait être assuré pour tous, que les gens travaillent ou pas. Un revenu supérieur devrait être donné à ceux qui souhaitent travailler au sein de leur communauté. La seconde vague a continué au cours des années 1960, accompagnée de mouvements sociaux auxquels la société civile participait et encourageait, tels que le Welfare Rights Movement. Il conclut en présentant la troisième et plus importante vague du mouvement pour le revenu de base qui a lieu en ce moment.

Marcus Brancaglione présentait un exemple concret de l’application du revenu de base au Brésil. Le Brésil est d’ailleurs le premier et seul pays à avoir introduit le concept du revenu de base dans sa constitution. En 2008, Marcus Brancaglione a initié un projet pilote dans un petit village de son pays natal. Au début, les gens croyaient qu’il ne s’agissait que d’une escroquerie, alors qu’au final, tous en ont bénéficié.

Plutôt que de dépenser des sommes astronomiques sur la guerre et la corruption, pourquoi ne pas détourner ces sommes vers des programmes de revenu de base desquels tous peuvent prendre avantage ? Cependant, il est primordial de se rappeler que “chaque droit est un devoir”. Bien que les gouvernements aient leur part en nous octroyant un tel droit, les populations ont le devoir d’utiliser ce revenu de sorte que tous, incluant les générations futures, puissent en profiter et puissent potentiellement éradiquer la pauvreté.

Pour conclure la conférence, une période de questions permit d’ouvrir le débat de plus belle. Bregman et Widerquist mentionnèrent entre autre qu’un système d’aide universelle – où les riches comme les pauvres sont bénéficiaires – est moins cher qu’un système ciblé. Certains pourraient défendre qu’un système d’aide universelle coûterait plus cher qu’un système ciblé. En fait, Widerquist démontre que les coûts nécessaires afin de déterminer quelles populations ont besoin de ce revenu de base sont plus élevés qu’un simple système où tous sont axés et tous en bénéficient au final. Au courant de la seconde vague du mouvement, Reagan et Thatcher ont démonisé les classes sociales plus pauvres et ainsi, reculé le travail des activistes pro-revenu de base. Les deux chercheurs ont expliqué qu’en incluant toutes les strates sociales dans les bénéfices sociaux, cela permettait de supprimer la démonisation des autres classes du débat.

Enfin,  Bregman clôt la discussion avec l’exemple du droit de vote des femmes, qui, pendant longtemps était considéré une utopie. Il ne faut pas oublier que “every milestone of civilization started as a utopian thought” – (chacune des grandes avancées de la civilisation commença par une idée utopique).

Partager