Murray Bookchin and an Open Letter to the Environmental Movement, with Janet Biehl

Conference
Aug 10 2016  13:00 - 15:30

One of the towering ecological philosophers and prophetic writers was Murray Bookchin, who died in Burlington,Vermont in 2006. In subsequent years his influence on both freedom and ecological movements has been amazing. Great orator and political theorist, a recent biography written by Janet Biehl and published by Oxford University Press (September 2015) generated a further interest on the impact of social ecology, a left-wing perspective on the environmental crisis that seriously threatens the present and near future of the human species best articulated by Bookchin. He pioneered many insights and analyses before Rachel Carson and other environmentalists.Because Bookchin melds a radical democratic and left-wing social analysis to a radical ecology, he is often ignored by environmentalists, less so by ecologists.For Bookchin, the environmental crisis is first and foremost a reflection of a deeply rooted social crisis.
In a seminal essay “An Open Letter to the Ecology Movement” Bookchin outlines the problems and contradiction in the movement that hinders its full impact. Janet Biehl (Burlington,Vermont) in a discussion presents the open letter with a view of engaging with the workshop,as to what can be done better and more effectively. Workshop chaired by Dimitri Roussopoulos

L’un des plus reconnus des penseurs et philosophes de l’écologie, était Murray Bookchin, décèdé à Bulington (Vermont) en 2006. Dans les années subséquents son influence sur le mouvements libertaires et écologiques fût extraordinaire. Grand orateur et théoricien politique, une récente biographie, rédigée Janet Biehl et publiée par Oxford University Press (Set. 2015) a suscité un grand intérêt et d’impact sur l’Écologie Social, une perspective de gauche sur la crise environnementale que, sérieusement, menace le présent et le proche futur de l’espèce humaine, si bien décrite par Bookchin. Il a été un pionnier et le premier a poser son regard et son analyse sur ces questions, avant Rachel Carson et autres environnementalistes. Parce que Bookchin a fondu la démocratie radicale et l’analyse sociale de gauche à l’écologie radicale il est ignoré, souvent, par les environnamentalistes mais moins par les écologistes. Pour Bookchin, la crise environnementale est avant tout le reflet d’une profonde crise sociale. Dans un séminal essai: “Lettre ouverte au Mouvement Écologique”, Bookchin soulève les problèmes et contradictions dans ce mouvement qui affaiblissent son impact. Janet Biehl (Burlington, Vermont) va présenter cette lettre, avec une vue de l’engagement avec les ateliers et ce qu’on peut faire mieux et plus efficacement. Moderateur: Dimitri Roussopoulos

Speakers
Janet Biehl, Editor and biographer of Murray Bookchin
Conference
Aug 10 2016  13:00 - 15:30
Université du Québec à Montréal – Pavillon DS (Local DS-2505)
320, rue Sainte-Catherine Est
Montréal, QC, Canada
Languages
English
Target audiences
General, Children, Youth (13-17 years old), Youth (18-35 years old), Seniors / Elders, Women, Workers, Peoples with disabilities, Indigenous, LGBT, Racialized people, People with precarious situation
Activities extended on the Internet
yes
Last Modified
29 June 2016
Murray Bookchin and an Open Letter to the Environmental Movement, with Janet Biehl
Group Admins
Nathan McDonnell
Organization(s) that co-animated activity
Black Rose Books
New Compass Press
Self-managed committee
Comité environnement
Programming theme
Rights of Nature and Environmental Justice
Objectives
To inform / To make aware of
Skills’ development / Training
Debate / deliberate / discuss
To propose / altenative development
Loading Map....

Murray Bookchin and an Open Letter to the Environmental Movement, with Janet Biehl

Conférence
10 Août 2016  13h00 - 15h30

One of the towering ecological philosophers and prophetic writers was Murray Bookchin, who died in Burlington,Vermont in 2006. In subsequent years his influence on both freedom and ecological movements has been amazing. Great orator and political theorist, a recent biography written by Janet Biehl and published by Oxford University Press (September 2015) generated a further interest on the impact of social ecology, a left-wing perspective on the environmental crisis that seriously threatens the present and near future of the human species best articulated by Bookchin. He pioneered many insights and analyses before Rachel Carson and other environmentalists.Because Bookchin melds a radical democratic and left-wing social analysis to a radical ecology, he is often ignored by environmentalists, less so by ecologists.For Bookchin, the environmental crisis is first and foremost a reflection of a deeply rooted social crisis.
In a seminal essay “An Open Letter to the Ecology Movement” Bookchin outlines the problems and contradiction in the movement that hinders its full impact. Janet Biehl (Burlington,Vermont) in a discussion presents the open letter with a view of engaging with the workshop,as to what can be done better and more effectively. Workshop chaired by Dimitri Roussopoulos

L’un des plus reconnus des penseurs et philosophes de l’écologie, était Murray Bookchin, décèdé à Bulington (Vermont) en 2006. Dans les années subséquents son influence sur le mouvements libertaires et écologiques fût extraordinaire. Grand orateur et théoricien politique, une récente biographie, rédigée Janet Biehl et publiée par Oxford University Press (Set. 2015) a suscité un grand intérêt et d’impact sur l’Écologie Social, une perspective de gauche sur la crise environnementale que, sérieusement, menace le présent et le proche futur de l’espèce humaine, si bien décrite par Bookchin. Il a été un pionnier et le premier a poser son regard et son analyse sur ces questions, avant Rachel Carson et autres environnementalistes. Parce que Bookchin a fondu la démocratie radicale et l’analyse sociale de gauche à l’écologie radicale il est ignoré, souvent, par les environnamentalistes mais moins par les écologistes. Pour Bookchin, la crise environnementale est avant tout le reflet d’une profonde crise sociale. Dans un séminal essai : “Lettre ouverte au Mouvement Écologique”, Bookchin soulève les problèmes et contradictions dans ce mouvement qui affaiblissent son impact. Janet Biehl (Burlington, Vermont) va présenter cette lettre, avec une vue de l’engagement avec les ateliers et ce qu’on peut faire mieux et plus efficacement. Moderateur : Dimitri Roussopoulos

Intervenants
Janet Biehl, Editor and biographer of Murray Bookchin
Conférence
10 Août 2016  13h00 - 15h30
Université du Québec à Montréal – Pavillon DS (Local DS-2505)
320, rue Sainte-Catherine Est
Montréal, QC, Canada
Langue(s) principale(s) de l’activité
Anglais
Publics cibles
Général, Enfants, Jeunes (13 à 17 ans), Jeunes (18 à 35 ans), Aînés, Femmes, Travailleurs et travailleuses, Personnes en situation de handicap, Autochtones, LGBT, Personnes racisées, Personnes en situation précaire
Activité étendue sur internet
oui
Dernière modification
29 June 2016
Murray Bookchin and an Open Letter to the Environmental Movement, with Janet Biehl
Organisation responsable de l'activité
TRISE (Transnational Institute of Social Ecology)
Administrateurs du groupe
Nathan McDonnell
Organisation(s) qui co-anime(nt) l'activité
Black Rose Books
New Compass Press
Comité autogéré
Comité environnement
Thème
Défense des droits de la nature et justice environnementale
Objectifs
Informer / Sensibiliser
Développer des compétences / Former
Débattre / délibérer / discuter
Proposer / Développer des alternatives
Chargement de la carte…